Any good reason to unplug the AC compressor?

Discussion in '4.0 Engine' started by Popranger, Mar 14, 2012.

1. Popranger

Popranger New Member

My son's '97 XLT has the 4.0 and AC. Just bought it a few days ago. I noticed the connection on top of the AC comp was unplugged. Is there some tricky advantage to doing this in winter, or was somebody just absent minded? I am just learning about this motor and Rangers, so I thought I should ask. There is a click noise about 20 seconds, just one click. My '86 Mustang 5.0 did that back when it was a few months old and a neighbor said the AC might be cycling on and off, but that was also during winter and I didn't have the AC switch on.

I've only seen the truck for like 3 minutes the day he bought it, so I don't even know if these have an electric fan on them? I thought maybe the click was an electric fan cycling???

2. Ranger Forum Sign Up!

Join RangerForum.com Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you a Ford Ranger fan? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Ford Ranger Fans to meet online.
    Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Ford, and have a great time with other Ranger fans. Whether your an old timer or just bought your Ford you'll find that Ranger Forum is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join RnagerForum.com Today! JOIN FOR FREE

3. Hooligan

Hooligan Rangerholic!!

I have never heard of any reason to disconnect it other than it never worked and they felt the need to disconnect it

4. Brinker88

Brinker88 Black sheep o' the family

Do NOT disconnect those hoses!!!! Have a professional garage discharge the system before doing so or toxic gasses will excape. You dont want Freon in your lungs/eyes, trust me.

5. Black mamba

Black mamba The mannnn

I could see someone unplugging it simply to stop the AC from turning on when the heat is on( it is annoying lol)