change manual trans fluid

Discussion in '1998 - 2011 Ford Ranger' started by sgull, Jun 30, 2012.

1. sgull

sgull Member

The service/maintenance booklet for my 5 speed manual 98 Ranger says change the manual transmission "oil" at 55,000 miles but the vehicle is now at 97,000 miles and it's never been done yet. The owners manual specifies the fluid to use is 2.8 quarts of Mercon ATF (although for some reason the service schedule refers to the fluid as "manual transmission oil"). I've never done this job before but it looks pretty straightforward, just basically drain and refill. Any tips/suggestions/comments that might be helpful for someone like me doing it for the first time? thanks...

2. Ranger Forum Sign Up!

Join RangerForum.com Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you a Ford Ranger fan? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Ford Ranger Fans to meet online.
    Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Ford, and have a great time with other Ranger fans. Whether your an old timer or just bought your Ford you'll find that Ranger Forum is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join RnagerForum.com Today! JOIN FOR FREE

3. SalRanger2

SalRanger2 Ranger Lover

yep its pretty straight forward. just make sure you can get the fill plug out before you drain it. drain the old, fill it up with the right ATF until it spills out and plug it back up. i did mine mileage wise like you did, boy was it dark! but yes don't put gear lube in, use the ATF it calls for. also i put on some of that white Teflon thread tape on the plugs too but it isn't mandatory.

4. OP
    sgull

sgull Member